Two Virginia Community College professors honored for faculty excellence during Richmond event

Home|Blog|Two Virginia Community College professors honored for faculty excellence during Richmond event

Konadu, Baker, and GearyTwo Virginia Community College professors were honored during an event in Richmond March first and joined the ranks of an elite club: winners of statewide awards recognizing college faculty who exemplify the highest standards of teaching, scholarship and service.  Kwabena Konadu of Northern Virginia Community College (left) and Thomas Geary of Tidewater Community College (right) are recipients of the 2022 Outstanding Faculty Awards.

The awards are administered by the State Council for Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV).  Peter Blake, SCHEV director (pictured above with Konadu and Geary) said, “The activities we celebrate today – outstanding teaching, research and service to one’s field, students, campus, community and world – help transform not only individual lives, but also advance the economic and cultural prosperity of the entire Commonwealth.”

Secy Guidera“Virginia’s system of higher education is among the best in the country,” said Secretary of Education Aimee Rogstad Guidera. “This is due in large part to our outstanding faculty members who continually give their time, talent and expertise to help their students learn and grow. We thank them for their commitment to ensuring Virginia students have the skills they need to succeed and contribute to our economy and community.”

“It is a humbling and great experience to receive this award so I can continue to do what I do,” said Konadu, professor and discipline chair of cybersecurity at NOVA. “I have been called to serve and to lead with passion and purpose – to help bring up the next generation of cybersecurity professionals who will help protect and defend our nation’s infrastructure and economy.”

“I am truly humbled to be recognized alongside such an inspirational, exceptional group of faculty members statewide,” said Geary, an English professor at TCC. “It is the highest honor of my professional career, and I am grateful to SCHEV for acknowledging my efforts to fulfill Tidewater Community College’s mission in prioritizing diversity, equity, and inclusion for our students.”

Professors Geary and Konadu were among a group of 12 faculty members to be honored and each received a gift of $7,500 from the Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation.

The Outstanding Faculty awards have honored top educators at Virginia’s colleges and universities since 1987. Nominees were selected by the institutions, reviewed by a panel of peers and chosen by a committee of leaders from the public and private sectors. In all, 85 nominations were submitted this year.


Forgot Password