Faculty members from Virginia’s Community Colleges honored for excellence - VCCS

Faculty members from Virginia’s Community Colleges honored for excellence

Home|Blog|Faculty members from Virginia’s Community Colleges honored for excellence

A major highlight of the 2022 VCCS New Horizons Conference last week honored faculty members from across the state for their extraordinary skills and commitment to students.

Virginia Western Community College engineering professor Richard “Rick” Clark received the Chancellor’s Award for Teaching Excellence, conferred upon just one VCCS faculty member statewide each year, judged on their instructional effectiveness, student focus, discipline competence, and personal attributes. Prof. Clark is pictured on the right with his wife, Julie, and VWCC President Robert Sandel.

The Susan S. Wood Professorship for Teaching Excellence recognizes a VCCS faculty member who demonstrates faculty excellence, dedication to students, and academic leadership.  The award was created by the Virginia Foundation for Community College Education in November 2013 to honor Dr. Susan S. Wood’s 40 years of service to Virginia’s Community Colleges. This year’s recipient is Kim Smith, Associate Professor of Nursing at Southwest Virginia Community College.  In addition to being a Certified Nurse Practitioner, Smith serves as Faculty Senate president at SWCC and on the Chancellors Faculty Advisory Committee. Smith (left) is pictured with Sharon Morrissey, VCCS Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic and Workforce programs.

The George B. Vaughan Leadership Award for Outstanding Adjunct Faculty serves as a legacy of Dr. Vaughan’s achievements, and to recognize the approximately 4,600 adjunct faculty members at Virginia’s Community Colleges who make an impact with countless students across Virginia.  This year, two adjunct professors were honored:  Marian Clifton, who teaches in the Human Services Department at Virginia Peninsula Community College (formerly known as Thomas Nelson CC).  Prof. Clifton is pictured with Chancellor Glenn DuBois. Also recognized for excellence as an adjunct faculty member:  longtime Northern Virginia Community College information technology instructor Floyd Schwartz. Schwartz (far right) was not able to attend New Horizons.

The 2022 Excellence in Education (EIE) Awards were conferred to acknowledge the tremendous work that so many people system-wide have undertaken during these unprecedented pandemic times to serve our students and communities. The EIE Awards recognize accomplishments between March 2020 and December 2021 and were given in four categories.

Building Opportunity through Collaboration – Project: Regular & Substantive Interaction Training Initiative.  Led by Terry Milroy, eLET/SVCC, the eleven-member team included Page Durham, Instructional Designer, eLET/Germanna; Gabriel Scala, Director of Distance Learning & Faculty Development, eLET co-chair/Brightpoint CC; Jim Schifflett, Educational Technology Specialist, eLET/PVCC; Tim Hoffman, Instructional Support Developer, eLET/RCC; Erin Mills, Instructional Designer, eLET/Laurel Ridge; Caryn Sever, Instructional Designer, eLET/NOVA; Melissa Stiltner, Director of Distance Learning, eLET/SWCC; Jason Vance, Canvas Admin/Academic Technologist, eLET/Virginia Peninsula CC; Jennifer Walz, Instruction & e-Resources Librarian, eLET/DCC; and Nova Wright, Instructional Designer, eLET/Mountain Gateway CC.

Building Opportunity through Connection – Healthcare Pathways Program

Claudia Etchebarne Hernández, Foreign Language Department Chair & Associate Dean, BRCC and Pamyla Yates, BRCC ESL Program Coordinator are seen with Drs. Morrissey and DuBois.

Building Opportunity through Inclusivity – Project: Laurel Ridge Community College Faculty Fellows – UDL and Assessment Led by Erin Mills, LFCC Instructional Designer, the eight-member team also included Soyoung Burke, Laurel Ridge ESL Program Coordinator; Rachel Dodson, Laurel Ridge Associate Professor of Business Management and Administration;  Jeff Hollar, Laurel Ridge Associate Professor of Biology; Amy Judd, Laurel Ridge Director of Academic Assessment, Evaluation, and Analytics; Curtis Morgan, Laurel Ridge Professor of History; Polly Nesselrodt, Laurel Ridge Associate Professor of Spanish; and Naomi Simpson, Laurel Ridge Associate Professor of Communication Studies. Winners are pictured with Drs. Morrissey and DuBois, and Laurel Ridge President Kim Blosser.

Building Opportunity through Knowledge – Project: Authentic Assessment Institute  Team lead, Caryn Sever, Instructional Designer, NOVA, and Kim Grewe (not pictured) Instructional Designer, NOVA. Sever is seen with Sharon Morrissey and Glenn Dubois (below).

You can view more photos from the New Horizons Conference on the VCCS flickr page.




Forgot Password