College Locator
If you are in Virginia, you are just 30 miles from a community college.
Here are the community colleges closest to
Home > Giving > Philanthropy Leaders

Philanthropy Leaders

Home > Giving > Philanthropy Leaders

The Chancellor’s Award for Leadership in Philanthropy was created in 2006 to honor leading philanthropists from each of Virginia’s 23 community colleges as well as the system’s statewide foundation. The 2015 class of philanthropy leaders contributed a combined total of more than $12 million dollars to Virginia’s Community Colleges.

The philanthropists are honored each spring. Thanks to the generosity of Wells Fargo, Commonwealth Legacy Scholarships are given in the names of each philanthropist to community college students who might not otherwise have an opportunity to attend college.

2015 Award Recipients
Mr. and Mrs. John and Cathy Matherly (BRCC) The Walker Family (PHCC)
Georgia-Pacific Big Island Mill (CVCC) Franklin Southampton Charities (PDCCC)
Mrs. Blakeslee Nettleton Chase (DSLCC) Dr. Patt Keats (PVCC)
J.T. Minnie Maude Charitable Trust (DCC) The Wright Family (RCC)
PNC Bank (ESCC) R.C. and Viola Hines Scholarship Fund (SVCC)
Mr. Kent D. Farmer (GCC) The Estate of Mrs. Carol Phipps Buchanan (SWCC)
Mr. and Mrs. Jerry and Mary Owen (JSRCC) Siemens Corporation (TNCC)
Mr. Michael R. White (JTCC) Mrs. Vanessa Christie (TCC)
Dr. Morgan Phenix (LFCC) Appalachian Power Company (VHCC)
The Estate of Mrs. Carol Phipps Buchanan (MECC) The Powell Charitable Foundation (VWCC)
The Late Mr. Robert J. Ingram (NRCC) Drs. O.J. Campbell, Dennis R. Throckmorton and Richard G. Copenhaver (WCC)
Micron Technology (NVCC) Mrs. Connie Kincheloe (VFCCE)

See the news release on the 2015 recipients.

See photos of this event on Flickr