College Locator
If you are in Virginia, you are just 30 miles from a community college.
Here are the community colleges closest to
VCCS OPD

Peer Groups

The award-winning Peer Group program for Virginia’s Community Colleges encourages collaboration, creativity, problem-solving, planning, forecasting, learning, and networking in the VCCS.

A peer group is a natural association of 12 or more faculty by discipline, position or special interest. Each peer group will have the opportunity to meet every other year to discuss substantive issues related to curriculum revision, integration of technology, instructional innovations, and discipline updates. Peer group meetings are organized by a planning committee comprised of individuals in the discipline or peer group. Peer group/discipline (PGD) meetings provide an opportunity for faculty to learn from each other and enhance the success of their students and colleges.

Peer Calendar Fall 2014

The following peer groups are scheduled to meet in the Fall of 2014. More information on each conference will posted when available.

Discipline Dates Chairs & Co-Chairs
World Languages Sept. 26-27 Isi Kessel, kesseli@tncc.edu
Information Systems Technologies Oct. 2-3 Dorothy Connelly, connellyd@brcc.edu
Jim Bell, bellj@cvcc.vccs.edu
Science Oct. 17-18 Jim Holden, jholden@tcc.edu
Nursing & Allied Health and Physical Education Oct. 23-24 Susan Hunter, shunter@reynolds.edu
Elaine Beaupre, ebeaurpre@reynolds.edu
PE: Brian Clark, bclark@nr.edu
English & ESL Nov. 6-7 Abby Montgomery, montgomerya@brcc.edu
Co-chair: Camille Mustachio, cmustachio@germanna.edu
New Faculty Seminar Nov. 13-14 Office of Professional Development, opd@vccs.edu
Global Studies/Sociology Nov. 20-21 GS: Isi Kessel, kesseli@tncc.edu
SOC: Heidi Morehead, hmorehead@nr.edu

Need assistance? Feel free to contact your college’s Professional Development Committee member or contact Nancy Harris, specialist for professional development.