College Locator
If you are in Virginia, you are just 30 miles from a community college.
Here are the community colleges closest to
Home > Careers > Office Of Professional Development > Awards & Scholarships > George B. Vaughan Leadership Award

George B. Vaughan Leadership Award for Outstanding Adjunct Faculty

The VCCS Office of Professional Development, in collaboration with the VCCS Office of Institutional Advancement, is pleased to announce the first system-wide award for adjunct faculty members.

Click here to view the 2016 George Vaughan Award Winners!


Friends and family of Dr. George B. Vaughan established an endowment fund in 2014 to honor Dr. Vaughan’s distinguished service of over 40 years as a national leader in community college education. The George B. Vaughan Leadership Award for Outstanding Adjunct Faculty serves as a legacy of Dr. Vaughan’s achievements and as an inspiration for VCCS faculty. The award recognizes one outstanding VCCS adjunct faculty member from each of the Virginia Community College’s five regions served by a Regional Center for Teaching Excellence, for a total of up to five awards to be bestowed per year.

The George B. Vaughan Leadership Award for Outstanding Adjunct Faculty is the first VCCS award to recognize the approximately 9,000 adjunct faculty members who are making an impact with countless students across Virginia.



Each Vaughan Award recipient receives $1,000, paid before the end of the semester of selection of the award. Award recipients are photographed and included in VCCS communications including the VCCS and Office of Professional Development websites and VCCS Annual Report. Recipients of the award will be announced during the VCCS New Horizons Conference Awards Banquet on April 12, 2018.



Individuals applying for this honor must be current VCCS employees, serving as adjunct faculty members at the time of nomination, with a minimum of two years of service to their current, nominating college. Service does not have to be continuous, but should be at a single VCCS college. Applicants’ adjunct teaching careers should reflect the excellence in leadership, teaching effectiveness, and student service exemplified by Dr. Vaughan. Adjunct faculty are nominated by their college president via a letter of recommendation. Presidents may nominate no more than one adjunct faculty member per campus.



Vaughan Award recipients are chosen through a competitive selection process overseen by a panel of outstanding educators assembled by the VCCS Director of Faculty Development. The panel will select adjunct faculty members who they determine best embody the excellence in leadership, teaching, and dedication to student success Dr. Vaughan inspires. Candidates should demonstrate consistently superior teaching and a commitment to providing students with instruction of the highest quality; adapt readily to student needs, interests, and problems; provide outstanding support for the growth and development of individual students; and demonstrate use of relevant, contemporary information from their discipline in their teaching.


Application Process

Applicants for the George B. Vaughan Leadership Award for Outstanding Adjunct Faculty must submit an online application, including a letter of nomination from their college president that demonstrates the nominee’s history of outstanding leadership, teaching, and service.

To apply for the George B. Vaughan Leadership Award, please follow the link below:

George B. Vaughan Leadership Award for Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Online Application

The application is due by 5:00 p.m. EST on February 15, 2018.



February 15 Online application is due to System Office by 5:00 p.m. EST
March 20 Award recipients selected and notified
April 12 Award recipients announced by Chancellor DuBois at the VCCS New Horizons Conference


2016 George Vaughan Award Winners

The inaugural group of George B. Vaughan Award Winners was announced at the 2016 VCCS First Year & Adjunct Faculty Institute. Five adjunct instructors, one from each of the five VCCS regions for teaching excellence, were awarded this prestigious honor.


Front row (l to r): Toby Cook (VHCC), Marci Gale (CVCC), David Warren (TCC), Dr. Kerry Ragno (TCC), Peggy Vaughan, Trina Campbell (GCC), and Dr. Joyce Hurt (SVCC). Back row (l to r): VHCC President Gene Couch, CVCC President John Capps, Chancellor Glenn DuBois, Dr. George Vaughan, Dr. Jeanne Wesley (GCC), and SVCC President Al Roberts.

The 2016 George Vaughan Award winners are:

  • Mrs. Toby Cook, Adjunct Instructor for Health Care, Technician I & II (Nurse Aide), Virginia Highlands Community College, Southwest Region
  • Ms. Marci Gale, Adjunct Instructor for Electronics, Engineering, Math, and STEM Academy, Central Virginia Community College, Central Virginia Region
  • Dr. Joyce Hurt, Adjunct Instructor for English, Southside Virginia Community College, Mid-Central Region
  • Dr. Trina Campbell, Adjunct Instructor for Math, Germanna Community College, Northern Virginia Region
  • Mr. David Warren, Adjunct Instructor of Music, Tidewater Community College, Tidewater Region

Visit VCCSBlog for more information about the inaugural group of Vaughan Award winners:

Inaugural Leadership Award Recognizes Outstanding Adjunct Professors